Morikei Fashion thoughts and an outfit board


When selecting a morikei outfit, the biggest factors I consider are these:

  • Hardiness, can this material last many uses, can it be washed and dried easily?
  • Comfort, Will I feel good in this outfit the whole day? I tend to prefer looser clothes, but sometimes too much fabric can also get in my way. Clothes that are too tight are not ideal for the summertime.
  • Storage, where can I put this? Bulky items are tough to put away in my cramped apartment.
  • Colors, does this tone fit in with my other warm hues? it's good to get clothes that match well so you can make outfits interchangably.


Accessories can really help bring the whole outfit together. I'm butch so I like to add timbs, piercings and natural tone cargo pants to my fits. This style has some overlap with moriboy aesthetic. I prefer gender neutral clothing, but really love skirts. They are so comfortable to wear. I understand other's perception of me will skew towards feminine because of skirts but I try not to let that bother me. Choosing an outfit for yourself feels so liberating! I feel so much joy wearing colors I like. As a teenager I thought you needed to wear drab colors like, black, gray, and white based off how people dressed around me.

As an adult I have full control ( that is, within the constraints of money! ) over what I wear. Saying goodbye permanently to boring clothes and skinny jeans is a decision I don't regret! I used to think, well if I am at home I should just wear my "bad" clothes and save my "good" clothes for outside. I noticed my mood and outlook is better when I dress better so I tend to wear cuter things. Even laborious tasks like cleaning the bath tub or kitchen feel a little bit more fun when I wear an apron and such. I brought arm warmers to work and they have been so helpful! The cozy design makes me work day feel less strenuous and it warms my wrists, since the office is extremely cold year-round. (seems extremely energy wasteful to me though.. )

I am still concious of capitalism pushing people to wear nicer and nicer things all the time so I try my best to limit my purchases. I love cute and beautiful things so I can't help but be drawn to decorating myself, my space to express myself. I'm looking into my DIY skills so I can do more elaborate embroideries on my clothes. Personalizing one's belongings through DIY feels amazing! It makes that item of clothing all the more special to you


Here's a little outfit board I put together



Layering something like this with lace socks, a vest, maybe a bandana, necklaces, rings, hair clips...! the possibilities are endless. Funnily enough I wouldn't buy this because I think the cherries shaking around while I am walking might be annoying lol. But I would definitely dress up my animal crossing character this way! Bringing a sketchbook and a trusty fountain pen to a cafe or the park sounds like a great way to spend the day in a cute outfit like this.

Current activities:


✿ Crocheting a small market bag in dark green! I'm following a video tutorial online :)

✿ Watching Shiroi Suna no Aquatope anime. It's pretty cute so far, thankfully there isn't any fan service. It's just a show about a girl who flopped and goes to help save a failing aquarium. Stories about career changes always interest me... not going to think hard about that.. (´_`。)

✿ studying HTML to make this blog better!



Today was extremely humid, almost 90% ! It was too hot in my apartment so I went to the library to write postcards to my friends. The library was nice and cool, not too cool! (I can't stand excessive air conditioning (|||❛︵❛) I returned a bunch of books and then popped the postcards into the mailbox

I LOVE the library! Places that are free and open to the public are far and few between in my city. It's nice to have somewhere to go to relax, study, and read. I had my swimming class yesterday and feel like I did poorly. I'm going to practice later today, I wish I had more access to a pool. It would be great to just float around peacefully for a while. Playing in the water is so relaxing! That's all for now, see you later!